Public Spaces Protection Order (PSPO) introduced from 02/09/16 More info
Welcome to Lydiard Park
Lydiard Park is a beautiful historic estate on the western edge of Swindon, with the Palladian House, Church and Walled Garden, set in 260 acres of parkland. The children's play area, Cafe & Tea Rooms, events and education programmes make Lydiard Park a great destination for a family day out.
There's a wealth of history waiting to be discovered as you tour round the State Rooms of Lydiard House, celebrated for its ornate plasterwork, original furnishings and family portraits dating back to Elizabethan times. Next door, St Mary's Church holds further monuments to the St John family, including the unique Polyptych and Golden Cavalier statue. The Georgian ornamental fruit and flower Walled Garden has been faithfully restored with stunning displays of flowers, fruit trees and topiary and in the park, there is more evidence of this once-great country estate, including the castellated dam wall, Ice House and grand avenues. Dogs are allowed in the grounds and the park is a lovely destination for a walk, run or bike ride. There are BBQs available to hire in the summer and lots of picnic spots.
Lydiard Park runs events all year round, including Open Air Theatre, Birds of Prey and Auto & Retro Festival. Lydiard Park is also a venue for many high profile events including The Royal British Legion's Royal Wootton Bassett Field of Remembrance and Cancer Research UK's Race for Life.
Lydiard Park was purchased by the Swindon Corporation in 1943 and today it continues to be owned and managed by Swindon Borough Council.