Lydiard House opened to the public in 1955. Following years of decay, it was restored with a grant from the Minister of Works. As the building was purchased empty, members of staff have worked tirelessly to track down paintings and furniture and return the house to its former glory.
Lydiard House & Park has always been an extremely popular visitor destination for local residents and visitors. However, in the last few decades the parkland had been in decline and many historic features were at risk. In 2005, Swindon Borough Council was awarded £3 million from the Heritage Lottery Fund to begin an extensive project to restore the handsome landscaped parkland of the 18th century.
As part of this project, this unique ice house and castellated dam wall were restored; the lake was reinstated; the Walled Garden was planted with flowers and fruit; a new native woodland was created, and the park had new footpaths and visitors facilities. The Lydiard Park Project was also supported by national organisations including English Heritage and Natural England, and local businesses including Intel Corporation UK, The BMW Group and RWE npower. It was completed in 2009.